Random stuff heard around the house

The English Coversation

I was doing an article and most of my articles are for UK based companies lately. So I ask Rich…

Me: What is a Shire anyway? I know they had tons in Lord of the Rings. I’ll Google it.

So I Google it and find out it is similar to a county in the US. So if I live in Bay County, in England it’d be Bay Shire. (I think)

Me: They confuse me over in the UK.

Rich: I think they were there first actually.

Me: Well, then why not keep the words the same when the Pilgrims came over?

Rich: They wanted to be separate from all that they left.

Me: That doesn’t mean they have to go around making up new words.

Share

Leave a Reply

